Cold Chisel

Cold Chisel Bio

Cold Chisel are an Australian pub rock band, which formed in Adelaide in 1973 by mainstay members Ian Moss on guitar and vocals, Steve Prestwich on drums and Don Walker on piano and keyboards. They were soon joined by Jimmy Barnes on lead vocals and, in 1975, Phil Small became their bass guitarist. The group disbanded in late 1983 but subsequently reformed several times. Musicologist Ian McFarlane wrote that they became ‘one of Australia’s best-loved groups’ as well as ‘one of the best live bands’, fusing ‘a combination of rockabilly, hard rock and rough-house soul’n’blues that was defiantly Australian in outlook.’

Seven of their studio albums have reached the Australian top five, Breakfast at Sweethearts (February 1979), East (June 1980), Circus Animals (March 1982, No. 1), Twentieth Century (April 1984, No. 1), The Last Wave of Summer (October 1998, No. 1), No Plans (April 2012) and The Perfect Crime (October 2015). Their top 10 singles are ‘Forever Now’ (1982), ‘Hands Out of My Pocket’ (1994) and ‘The Things I Love in You’ (1998).

Know Something We Don’t?

Share information, posters, images etc, and we’ll add them to the artist’s page.

Let us Know

Artist Website


We See You’re a Fan of Cold Chisel

Search Here to Find Your Next Favourite!

Generic filters
Exact matches only